Baking with Sparkling Water: Who Knew?

Standard

I heart waffles. And pancakes. And crepes. And muffins. And scones. You get the idea. 

When my stepmother was on bed rest years ago expecting my sister Caitlin, for some reason I got it in my 12 year-old mind that she needed to be fed home-made chocolate chip cookies every single day.  I still often remind Caitie that she’s about 73% cookie dough!  I’m not sure how many weeks this baking frenzy went on, but I don’t recall anyone asking me to stop (with the exception of the time I was too lazy to actually form cookies and smashed the entire bowl of dough into a casserole dish). The moral of the story is, even though I went off to boarding school a couple of years later and entered almost a decade of cafeteria food, I have always loved to bake.  

When I stopped eating dairy I thought I might have to (gasp, choke) give up my beloved baked goods, too, but of course that fear has been repeatedly vanquished via successful baking endeavors.  In place of eggs, I have generally used apple cider vinegar mixed with almond or soy milk or flax seed meal mixed with water.  Recently, however, I discovered that using sparkling water actually provides baked goods – particularly quick breads such as waffles and pancakes — with an extra lightness that is just scrumptious. 

Here’s a variation on a waffle recipe from Candle 79 (please do visit this incredible vegan restaurant the next time you’re in the Big Apple!).      

Sparkling Waffles (serves 2 very hungry small people, or 3-4 normal appetites)

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 T sugar
  • 3 t. flax seed meal
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1 t. cinnamon
  • 2 t. vanilla
  • 2 t. apple cider vinegar
  • 1 1/2 cups soy milk (or other non-dairy milk)
  • 1/2 cup sparkling water (I used lemon essence, because I’m fancy and that’s all I had)
  • 2 T melted Earth Balance buttery spread (or coconut oil, of course!)

1. Combine all dry ingredients in medium sized bowl.

2. Add vinegar to milk, then stir in the sparkling water, vanilla and melted buttery spread/oil.  Add to dry mix and whisk like it’s the last whisk of your life!

3. If you want to be seriously gourmet, add 1/2 cup chopped nuts, 1/2 cup chocolate chips, and/or fresh fruit such as blueberries or bananas. 

Yummy. I may make these again for dinner. 🙂

Image

 

Leave a Reply

