Curry in a Hurry

Standard

Most of the time I like to use my own fresh spices and ingredients, but sometimes — and perhaps especially when one has been away from home for 8 weeks, and arrived home to find that something had apparently exploded and slimed the entire refrigerator, and one has also been invited to come over and meet a 2-week old baby girl (am I going to put that off?!) –sometimes you just need to use what you have on hand to whip up a curry in a hurry. 

As you know if you’re following my blog, I have been on a bit of a cauliflower kick lately, so on my quick run to the store yesterday to get a few cleaning supplies (and before I figured out what to bring for dinner tonight) I picked up a head of cauliflower along with some organic firm tofu.   I was planning on procuring more groceries this morning for dinner reinforcements, but after my children plotted to destroy my sanity on the way to the gym, I just could not motivate to take them into the store. You know how that goes. Speaking of, if one more kindly person in line at Fred Meyer tells me “You’ll miss these days!”  as one kid is pinching a stranger’s thigh and the other clears out the M&M box into our cart, I may just lose my breezy composure.   

All of this is a long way of explaining why I put together a curry for this evening with what I had in my cupboards and freezer, and I think it actually tastes quite lovely. . or maybe I’m too tired to really care. 🙂

Cauliflower, Tofu, & Chickpea Curry

  • 16 oz. package of extra firm organic tofu, cut in chunks
  • 1 T. oil (coconut/olive/sesame, you be the judge)
  • 1 can organic chickpeas, drained & rinsed
  • 1 package green beans, frozen (I know.)
  • 1 onion, chopped finely
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 jar green curry paste
  • 1 can coconut milk (not light)
  • 1/2-1 cup water
  • 1 head of cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 1-2 T “sweet ginger garlic” seasoning
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 1 t. arrowroot powder
  • tamari, to taste
  • fresh basil and green onions (did not have this time, but going to pick up on the way!)

1. Saute onion for 4-5 minutes, add tofu, cook till browned. Add garlic, cook another minute. Add cauliflower florets, coconut milk, water, curry paste, seasonings.  Cook for about 15 minutes, checking cauliflower to make sure it’s not getting smushy.

2. Add green beans, chickpeas, and arrowroot powder (to thicken). Simmer for a few minutes on low to heat everything through – kick it up a notch with some red pepper flakes if you’re brave or want to limit your guest’s servings.

3. Serve over rice (I made brown with a few drops of sesame oil), garnish with basil and green onions.  Bon Appetit!

ImageImage  

 

 

 

 

 

One response »

  1. arrowroot powder? what the… how did you discover that? ive always used potato, cornstarch, or wondra flour in small amounts to thicken. Please elaborate 🙂

Leave a Reply

