Stop Waffling and Serve Up an Easy Vegan Breakfast

Standard

Breakfast used to be my favorite meal to eat out. . . until I had feral cats (I mean children) and became vegan.  I still love all things breakfast, but unless I’m visiting a place that offers rad dairy-free options (Southeast Idaho? Not so much), breakfast is at my house.  Our beloved brunch is not the most economical meal to enjoy at a restaurant, either.  Have you ever been seated right next to the restroom and paid $12.95 for buckwheat vegan nut pancakes served with wildflower syrup?  Exactly. So, make your own flapjacks to serve your sleepy family, and eat like vegan rock stars.

I have gone down the dangerous (and short) road of cheerfully making tofu benedict and florentine without the eggs or cheese.  Let me save you the stress: just stick with breakfast dishes in which dairy plays a supporting rather than leading role. My only exception to this is the occasional tofu scramble full of veggies and fresh herbs.  You won’t miss the eggs, I promise.

Genevieve’s absolute favorite breakfast is cornmeal pancakes, so I make them often, and this is the best recipe I’ve found.  The kids prefer their blueberries on the side, but I throw a lot in for the ‘dults.  I’ve adapted this from one of my vegan bibles, Veganomicon. I recommend making a double batch – you can always toast leftovers or store extra batter in the fridge for a couple of days.  Or just stand at your counter reading a magazine and eat them until you feel sick. (If you’re a gluten-free goddess, try replacing the white flour in these recipes with Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free All-Purpose Flour!)

Blueberry Cornmeal Pancakes
(makes 8 – 10 pancakes)

Ingredients:

3/4 cup all-purpose organic flour
1/2 cup cornmeal
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons coconut oil (you can use canola, too)
1 1/4 cup plain almond or organic soy milk
1/3 cup water
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
2 teaspoons grated lemon zest (if you don’t have this, don’t fret)
1 cup fresh blueberries (I often use frozen or leave out if I don’t have any)

Mix dry ingredients, stir in oil, milk, vanilla, maple syrup, water, and lemon zest. Cook these thin, delicious pancakes over medium heat. Swoon. Repeat.

Hello, my name is Hannah and I’m addicted to waffles.  Seriously. I’m having withdrawals here in Hawaii without my waffle iron. Here are a couple of my favorite vegan waffle recipes.  Both include bananas, but feel free to experiment with whatever fruits and nuts you have around. One more thing about waffles: if a recipe does not call for any kind of oil, add some, or you’ll make some bizarre broken waffles and be prying off burnt chunks for weeks.  Waffle batter should be thicker than pancake batter, but play around with the consistency. If you like your waffles lighter, add more liquid.

Vegan Banana Oatmeal Waffles

1 ¼ cup old fashioned oats

½ cup organic whole wheat flour

2 tsp. baking powder

½ tsp. sea salt

1 tsp. cinnamon and/or nutmeg

1  cup almond or soymilk

1/2 cup water

2 T. coconut / canola oil (or Earth Balance, melted)

2 ripe bananas, smooshed

If you prefer a finer batter, you can blend the oats and flour before adding the other ingredients.  These are naturally sweet with the bananas, so no need for added sugar (though, if you had the insane impulse to add dark chocolate chips I’m sure no one would complain . . .).  I like to slather them with peanut or almond butter and fresh fruit. Delish.

One more, I can’t help it.  This is another incredible recipe from Veganomicon. 

Banana Nut Waffles

1 and 3/4 c. non-dairy milk
1/4 c. water
2 tsp. apple cider vinegar
2 average sized ripe bananas
3 TBL canola oil (or, you guessed it, coconut)
3 TBL pure maple syrup
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 and 1/4 c. all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1 c. walnuts, finely chopped (or pecans, almonds, macadamia nuts, hazelnuts. . you get the idea)
non-stick cooking spray (if you have a waffle iron with issues!)

1) Mix the non-dairy milk, water, and vinegar together, set aside to turn into vegan “buttermilk.”

2) Smash the bananas, set aside (plug in your waffle iron, too!)

3) Mix all dry ingredients, then stir in oil, syrup, vanilla, spices, and milk/vinegar mixture.

4)  Add chopped nuts.

Makes: A Lot. These are divine!  An added bonus: your house will smell like banana bread.

Remember, you don’t have to wait until morning to try these recipes out.  It’s perfectly acceptable to have breakfast for lunch or dinner any day of the week.

Leave a Reply

